About Durban University of Technology

The Durban University of Technology (DUT) is a university in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. It was formed in 2002 following the merger of Technikon Natal and ML Sultan Technikon and it was initially known as the Durban Institute of Technology. It has five campuses in Durban, and two in Pietermaritzburg. In April 2021, approximately 30439 students were enrolled to study at DUT. The University is one of five technical institutions on the African continent to offer Doctoral Degrees. The current Chancellor is Nonkululeko Nyembezi.

The Durban University of Technology is a result of the merger, in April 2002, of two technikons, ML Sultan and Technikon Natal. It was named the Durban Institute of Technology and later became the Durban University of Technology in 2007.

KwaZulu-Natal's Indian population began arriving in the 1860s to primarily work as indentured labourers on the sugar plantations. In 1927, those with no formal educational qualifications were threatened with repatriation. This threat stimulated adult classes in literacy, as well as a range of commercial subjects, held in a mission school and a Hindu Institute, but it was not until after the Second World War, and thanks to substantial financial support from the public, that ML Sultan College came into being. It would be another decade, however, before the City Council, now preoccupied with the structures of the first Group Areas Act of 1950, allocated suitable land for a permanent campus.

The Natal Technical College was founded in 1907 and immediately began providing tuition to more than 350 part-time students. The structures of apartheid as it was codified through legislation weighed heavily on this institution as well. In 1955 the college was taken over by national education authorities, and in 1967 it became an exclusively white institution.
Learn. Think. Do

DUT Campuses

  • Brickfield Campus, Durban
  • City Campus, Durban 999
  • Indumiso Campus, Pietermaritzburg
  • ML Sultan Campus, Durban
  • Ritson Campus, Durban
  • Riverside Campus, Pietermaritzburg
  • Steve Biko Campus, Durban

DUT Business School
The Durban University of Technology launches its Business School in 2021. The School offers its new Masters of Business Administration (MBA) programme, Postgraduate Diploma in Business Administration (PDBA) programmes, Higher Certificates programmes and a variety of Executive Education and short learning programmes. The DUT Business School also designs tailor-made, in-house programmes and collaborates with corporate, public and non-profit organisations to develop and capacitate employees in various areas

Postal Address
PO Box 1334, Durban, 4000
Physical Adress
Steve Biko Campus, Cnr Botanic Gardens & Steve Biko Roads, Berwyn Court, Durban


Durban University of Technology

Contact business

    Kindly respond to this short survey on how you use online search... Thank you Click Here to Take Survey
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review