About Aswan University

In 1974, Aswan branch was constructed as an affiliation to Assiut University. In October of the academic year 1973/1974, Study began in the faculty of education, the first bachelor was given in 1978 then started the enrollment in master degree in the faculty of science in the academic year 1977/1978 after that the enrollment in PhD started in the academic year 1977/1978. In 1995 the presidential decree no. 23 of 1995 was issued to establish South Valley University and then Aswan branch was affiliated to it, new faculties were established (faculty of arts – faculty of social work – faculty of engineering).

In 2012 Aswan University was constructed as a governmental university by the presidential decree no. 311 of 11th of June 2013. 15 faculties were included  (arts, education, science, social work, engineering, energy engineering, veterinary medicine, agriculture, nursing, languages and translation, medicine, fisheries technology, commerce, specific education, and archaeology). The university main campus is located in Sahary City, Airport Road. It occupies 400 acres in addition to the new headquarters in Aswan Al-Gadeda that occupies 98.5 acres. Aswan university includes 6 headquarters and 6 university dorms in Aswan City.

Vision: To be one of the distinct governmental universities in education, culture, scientific research and knowledge sources. It seeks to estimate its education, scientific research, creative activities, and public serving. It also looks forward to achieving high-quality education from a global perspective.

Mission: Aswan University is committed to providing the best education and research services opportunities to the students and the larger community with a level of quality comparable to the regional and international standards and providing an education based on scientific research to encourage students doing their utmost to become experienced graduates qualified for the changing circumstances. Aswan University is also obliged to improve the quality of manpower in the South Valley area in a way that meets the needs of this unique community and reaching distinguished and sustainable cooperation beneficial to us and our partners in the domains of education and social services.

African Studies and Nile Basin States Institute
Nursing Institute

Humanities faculties

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Dar El-Ulum
  • Faculty of Al-Alsun
  • Faculty of Social Work
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Physical Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Specialized Education
  • Faculty of Archaeology

Scientific faculties

  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Energy Engineering
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Faculty of Fish & Fisheries Technology

Faculties under construction

  • Faculty of Oral and Dental Medicine
  • Faculty of Tourism and Hotel Management

Aswan University, Sahary city, airport road
Postal Code: 81528
Tele: 097380446 – 0973480901
Fax: 09773480449



Sahara, City of Cape Town, Western Cape 7525, South Africa


Aswan University

Contact business

    Kindly respond to this short survey on how you use online search... Thank you Click Here to Take Survey
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review