About the University Of Nigeria Nsukka: The University of Nigeria, commonly referred to as UNN, is a federal university located in Nsukka, Enugu State, Nigeria. Founded by Nnamdi Azikiwe in 1955 and formally opened on 7 October 1960, the University of Nigeria has three campuses in Enugu State– Nsukka, Enugu, and Ituku-Ozalla – and the Aba campus in Abia State.

The University of Nigeria is the first full-fledged indigenous and first autonomous university in Nigeria,modelled upon the American educational system. It is the first land-grant university in Africa and one of the five most reputed universities in Nigeria. The university has 15 Faculties and 102 academic departments. The university offers 108 undergraduate programs and 211 postgraduate programmes.

The university celebrated its 50th anniversary in October 2010, and would have celebrated its 60th anniversary save for the COVID-19 pandemic.


The university has four campuses – Nsukka (University of Nigeria, Nsukka, UNN), Enugu (University of Nigeria Enugu campus, UNEC), Ituku-Ozalla (University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, UNTH) and Aba (University of Nigeria Aba campus, UNAC).

The main campus of the university is located on 871 hectares of hilly savannah in the town of Nsukka, about eighty kilometres north of Enugu, and enjoys a very pleasant and healthy climate. Additionally, 209 hectares of arable land are available for an experimental agricultural farm and 207 hectares for staff housing development. There is regular road transport between Nsukka and Enugu, and Nsukka is also quite easily accessible from all parts of Nigeria. There are modern shopping facilities and a large market in Nsukka town. The Nsukka campus houses the Faculties of Agriculture, Arts, Biological Sciences, Education, Engineering, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences, and Veterinary Medicine.

The former Nigerian College of Arts, Science and Technology, Enugu, was incorporated into the university in 1961, and its buildings now form the Enugu Campus (200 hectares) of the university located in the heart of Enugu, the administrative capital of Enugu State of Nigeria. Enugu is a modern city, accessible by air, rail and road. The Faculties of Business Administration, Environmental Studies, Law and Medical Sciences are located at the Enugu Campus.

The teaching hospital (UNTH) attached to the university is presently sited at Ituku-Ozalla (25 kilometres south of Enugu) on a 500 hectare site. It also hosts the Faculty of Dentistry and Health Sciences and Technology

To Restore the Dignity of Man



To create a functional, globally competitive and research focused university that is not just an Ivory Tower but responsive to the needs of the society while delivering world class education and knowledge.


To place the university of Nigeria, Nsukka at the forefront of research and the development, innovation, knowledge transfer and human resources development in the global academic terrain, while promoting the core values which will ensure the restoration of the dignity of man.





    • Agriculture
    • Arts
    • Basic Medical Sciences
    • Biological Science
    • Business Administration
    • Dentistry
    • Education
    • Engineering
    • Environmental Studies
    • Health Sciences
    • Law
    • Medicine
    • Pharmaceutical Science
    • Social Sciences
    • Physical Sciences
    • Veterinary Medicine
    • Humanities
    • Clinical Sciences


    • Institute of African Studies
    • Institute for Development Studies
    • Institute of Mental & Child Health
    • Institute for Drugs-Herbal Medicine-Excipient Research and Development (ID-HED-ERD)
    • Institute of Education
    • Institute of Marine Studies
    • Institute of Molecular Medicine & Infectious Diseases
    • Institute of Public Health
    • UNN Business School
    • School of Post Graduate Studies
    • School of General Studies


    • African Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Power & Energy Development
    • Advancement Centre
    • B.I.C Ijeomah Centre for Policy Studies & Research
    • Biotechnology Centre
    • Centre for Rural Development & Co-operation
    • Centre for Basic Space Science
    • Centre for Igbo Studies
    • Centre for Entrepreneurship & Development Research
    • Centre for American Studies
    • Centre for Distance & e-learning
    • Centre for Environmental Management & Control
    • Curriculum Development & Instructional Materials Centre (CUDIMAC)
    • Centre for Technical Vocational Education Training and Research (CETVETAR)
    • Centre for Climate Change
    • Energy Research Centre
    • Equipment Research & Maintenance Centre
    • Gender & Policy Research Centre
    • Lion Gadgets & Technologies Centre
    • Organization of Women in Science for Developing World
    • Resource & Environment Policy Research Centre
    • Strategic Contacts, Ethics & Publications (STRACEP)
    • UNESCO International Centre for Biotechnology



Nsukka, Enugu, Nigeria


University Of Nigeria Nsukka

Contact business

    Kindly respond to this short survey on how you use online search... Thank you Click Here to Take Survey
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a review